design

Design note, April 16.

The movie version of a book I designed the jacket for was released today.

Not having read the book before completing the assignment, I attempted to provide my idea of something mainstream yet attractive enough to be seen alongside potboiler suspense novels and syrupy self-help best-sellers.

My art director created the composite image from photographs taken at the movie’s location.

I’m no Chip Kidd, but this was fun. I hope the book does well enough for me to get another assignment like this, but not so well that some larger publisher gets the author’s next contract.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Design note, April 16.

  1. I hope the book does well enough for me to get another assignment like this, but not so well that some larger publisher gets the author’s next contract.

    Haha. Indeed. Great job.

  2. nancy williams says:

    Coincidentally, we are planning a family date tomorrow to go see this movie! Now that I know about your connection, I’ll have to buy the book, too! (Perfect since I was planning a stop at the bookstore today!)
    Speaking objectively, I’d have definitely been drawn to pick up this book and check it out based on the cover design. Yay, Mo!!

Leave a Reply

